Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

National League for Nursing honors IU School of Nursing dean emerita with President's Award

Angela Barron McBride
Angela Barron McBride View print-quality image


October 22, 2012

Contact Information:

View Related Releases:

Share This:

  • Share

Angela Barron McBride, distinguished professor-university dean emerita of the Indiana University School of Nursing from 1991 to 2003, was recognized with one of the major National League for Nursing awards during the annual NLN Education Summit in September -- a four-day gathering for nurse faculty, deans and administrators of nursing schools across the spectrum of higher education along with health care executives and educators in allied organizations, in Anaheim, Calif.

McBride received the 2012 NLN President's Award for her significant contributions to advancing the health of the nation through excellence in nursing education and practice. McBride was instrumental in locating Sigma Theta Tau's International Center for Nursing Scholarship on the IUPUI campus during her presidency of that organization, from 1987 to 1989, and she served as president of the American Academy of Nursing from 1993 to 1995.

She is a member of the IU Health Board, chairs the National Advisory Committee for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Nurse Faculty Scholars program and serves on the board of the Society for Women's Health Research. She is also a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and was recognized as a "Living Legend" by the American Academy of Nursing. McBride recently received the President’s Medal for Excellence for “sustained academic excellence” from Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie and was elected a fellow of the New York Academy of Medicine.
"Angela Barron McBride is the quintessential pioneer and legendary leader, whose vision, passion and commitment to excellence have advanced nursing education and health care in the United States and globally. With this unique award I salute her impressive leadership and remarkable achievements attained over a lifetime in nursing," said Judith A. Halstead, president of the National League for Nursing and executive associate dean for academic affairs at the IU School of Nursing.

About the National League for Nursing

Dedicated to excellence in nursing education, the National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. Members include nurse educators, education agencies, health care agencies and interested members of the public. The National League for Nursing offers faculty development programs, networking opportunities, testing and assessment, nursing research grants and public policy initiatives to its 28,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members.