Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

Donors, Volunteers Receive One of IUPUI's Most Prestigious Philanthropy Awards


April 10, 2012

Contact Information:

View Related Releases:

Share This:

  • Share

The IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy Award, one of the most prestigious philanthropy awards given by Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, was bestowed upon more than 30 individuals and organizations at this year’s Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon and ceremony sponsored by IUPUI, Indiana University Foundation and the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University.

For 23 years, the Spirit of Philanthropy Award has recognized those that have had a profound impact on IUPUI’s growth and development through their gifts and voluntary service. “Philanthropy, especially when applied to educational opportunity, has the power to transform—lives, programs, campuses, entire universities, entire communities,” said Charles R. Bantz, Chancellor, IUPUI.

The Spirit of Philanthropy Awards Luncheon was held Tuesday (April 10, 2012) in the IUPUI Campus Center.

In honor of their contribution to IUPUI’s success, this year’s honorees received a one-of-a-kind framed print created especially for the 2012 celebration. Designed by Jessye Calkin, an IU Herron School of Art and Design student, the artwork, titled “Community,” was chosen in a competition coordinated through the Basile Center for Art, Design and Public Life, which serves Herron’s students by connecting their talents with the community.

The following, listed by school or unit, were honored at the 2012 IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon:

IU Herron School of Art and Design
Dr. Randolph Deer and Wayne Zink

IU Kelley School of Business Indianapolis
National Association of Purchasing Managers–Indianapolis Chapter

The Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University
Dr. Russell G. and Lou Ann Mawby

The Center for Service and Learning

Division of Continuing Studies
Dr. Ali Jafari

IU School of Dentistry
Dr. Joseph and Mrs. Denyce Heidelman

Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Alpha Blackburn

IU School of Education
Dr. Nancy Chism

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology
Gary L. Byrkett

Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus
The Elizabeth R. And Walter C. Nugent Foundation

IU School of Informatics
Mrs. Barbara and Dr. John Hayes

IUPUI Intercollegiate Athletics
Kim and Marissa Manlove

IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Gerald L. Bepko and Norman Lefstein

IU School of Liberal Arts
Dr. Richard K. Curtis and Mrs. Elizabeth M. Curtis

IU School of Medicine
Indiana Lions Eye & Tissue Transplant Bank

IU School of Nursing
Angela and William McBride

IU School of Optometry
Dr. R. Daniel Grossman

IU School of Physical Education and Tourism Management
Milford P. and Margaret M. Christenson

IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs
Robert E. Martin

Purdue School of Science
Citizens Energy Group

IU School of Social Work
Llewellyn Linde, JD

IUPUI Division of Student Life
Drs. Karen Whitney and Peggy Apple

University College
Tonja Conour Eagan, MPA, CFRE

IUPUI University Library
National FFA Organization