Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

IUPUI Team Wins Electric Vehicle Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Electric Vehicle Grand Prix Winners
Electric Vehicle Grand Prix Winners View print-quality image


May 9, 2011

Contact Information:

View Related Releases:

Share This:

  • Share

IUPUI students continued their domination of the Purdue go-kart Grand Prix events by winning the first ever Purdue Electric Vehicle Grand Prix (EVGP) on Saturday, May 7, 2011, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Just three weeks after an IUPUI team won the annual gasoline Purdue Grand Prix go-kart race in West Lafayette, a team of IUPUI motorsports engineering, electrical engineering technology, and mechanical engineering technology students pulled off another race win, this time in electric go-karts.

Chris Weyer drove the No. 35 kart to victory, leading several times during the race. Weyer was the quickest kart on the track most of the day, and his crew gave him a remarkable 14-second pit stop. Several multi-kart spins and tangles on the extremely tight race circuit slowed Weyer on several occasions. But, after a steady drive, he took the lead for good with roughly 20 laps to go, taking the checkered flag in front of two Purdue University karts. The field also included schools from the United Kingdom and Ireland as well as a number of schools around the Midwest.

A second IUPUI kart, driven by Justin Penix and entered by IUPUI Energy Club and SAE Chapter, ran strong early, before experiencing an electrical short caused by track debris. Penix took the first place trophy during the gasoline Grand Prix race earlier this season, winning that race for the second year in a row.

The EVGP event was part of Emerging Tech Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and drew student teams in several competitions held around the grounds of the world's most famous race track.