Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

IU Cancer Researchers Named to Komen Scientific Advisory Council


June 14, 2010

View Related Releases:

Share This:

  • Share

Four Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center researchers are among 62 top-ranking scientists and clinicians from seven countries selected to serve as inaugural members of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure’s new Scientific Advisory Council.

The Komen Scientific Advisory Council members who also are faculty at the Indiana University School of Medicine are:

  • Sunil S. Badve, M.B.B.S., associate professor of pathology and laboratory medicine
  • Theresa A. Guise, M.D., the Jerry W. and Peggy S. Throgmartin Professor of Oncology and professor of medicine in the Division of Endocrinology
  •  Kathy Miller, M.D., associate professor of medicine and Sheila D. Ward Scholar, who was selected as a 2010 Associate SAC Member
  • Harikrishna Nakshatri, Ph.D., the Marian J. Morrison Professor of Breast Cancer Research and a professor of surgery, biochemistry and molecular biology

The Scientific Advisory Council’s provides scientific peer review for the breast cancer grants and programs that Komen funds annually. Komen plans to invest $55 million in 2010.

A surgical pathologist, Dr. Badve is the primary pathologist for breast cancer research at the IU School of Medicine. He also directs the translational genomics core at the medical school.

Dr. Guise is an expert on metabolic bone diseases. Her research interest also include the skeletal complications of malignancy and the effect of chemotherapy and radiation treatments on bone.

Dr. Miller specializes in the study and treatment of breast cancer and directed early studies of drugs used to treat advanced breast cancer.

Dr. Nakshatri is studying the mechanisms of chemotherapy resistance and organ-specific metastasis in breast cancer.