Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

Coach Hunter Wins Top Minority Business and Professional Achievers Award


March 23, 2009

Contact Information:

View Related Releases:

Share This:

  • Share

IUPUI head men’s basketball Coach Ron Hunter will be a top honoree at the 29th Annual Minority Business and Professional Achievers Recognition Awards Dinner, presented by the Center for Leadership Development.

Hunter, will receive the “Accomplished Achievement Award,” the top award presented to a man, during the recognition ceremony at 6 p.m. on Monday, March 23, 2009, in the Sagamore Ballroom of the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis.

Working with Samaritan's Feet, a charitable organization, Hunter last year raised more than 200,000 pairs of shoes for children living in poverty.

"Through his charitable work, Ron has elevated the image of IUPUI and the athletics program on a global scale,” CLD President Dennis E. Bland said. “The direct result of the Samaritan’s Feet campaign has helped raise hundreds of thousands of shoes to be delivered to children in need, both overseas and domestic.”

Ron Hunter is IUPUI’s longest tenured head coach with 15 years of service. He is the all-time leader in wins (233), winning percentage (.564) and games coached (438). In 2002-03, he led IUPUI to its first NCAA Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournament. Hunter also coached and prepared IUPUI’s first NBA draftee, George Hill of the San Antonio Spurs.

The annual Minority Business and Professional Achievers Recognition Awards Dinner allows Central Indiana business, educational and community leaders to come together and recognize minority professionals who have demonstrated high achievement in life's work and in providing valuable service to the community. Last year nearly 1,200 people, including many of Indianapolis’ business, civic, educational and community leaders, attended the gala.

During the gala, Andrea Neely, Indiana area development director for the United Negro College Fund, will receive the 2009 Madame C. J. Walker award as “Outstanding Woman of the Year.”

In addition to honoring the top man and woman achievers, the dinner will recognize a number of individuals in a variety of categories. IUPUI nominees for recognition and their respective nomination categories are: Darrell E. Brown of Kelley School of Business, Achievement in Education; Vicki L. Gayfield of the Center for Research and Learning, “Up and Coming”; Professor Didier Gondola of the School of Liberal Arts, Achievement in Profession; Ron Hunter of Athletics, Neighborhood and Community Service; and Darrell Nickolson of the School of Engineering and Technology, Achievement in Education; and Neighborhood and Community Service.

IUPUI Chancellor Bantz also will present five IUPUI Norman Brown Diversity Leadership Program scholarship awards to CLD alumni who are admissible to IUPUI for the 2009-2010 academic years.

Scholarship recipients are: Meaghan Banks; Brian Cole, Jr.; Osamudiamen Evbuomwan-Owa; Lexus Jackson; and Stephen Murrell.

CLD is a non-profit organization whose mission is to foster the advancement of minority youth in Central Indiana as future professional, business and community leaders by providing experiences that encourage personal development and educational attainment.